And it was mostly worth it.

What did I spend my precious resources on, I hear you ask.

A book and a journal, I answer.

The journal, Gods&Radical’s Beautiful Resistance #1 ‘Everything we already are’, was published in November last year. I got mine in December I think. I ordered it when I had a bit of cash then had to wait for delivery. At the time I had a part time job as well as my benefits so it wasn’t too much of a difficulty, but that’s another story.

I really enjoyed this mix of essays and poetry, it made me think, and cry and get angry. The cover is lovely and the production quality is reasonable. There were some spelling errors in the essays, more than I would expect in a professional journal. I found some of the essays went a bit over my head, full of philosophical jargon but for the most part the content was highly readable and interesting to a wide audience.

Issue two is published May Day 2016 and will be edited by Lorna Smithers, a Lancashire poet and Brythonic polytheist. I am very much looking forward to it, if someone could loan me the £20 for  two issue subscription that would be fantastic. *cheeky grin*

 

The book I bought, on a whim, was Pagan Planet: Being, Believing and Belonging in the 21st Century, edited by Nimue Brown. It’s a collection of essays from a variety of pagans about their lives as pagans in the 21st century. Some were long, some short and most interesting. Obviously, I did disagreed with one or two of the writers, for various reasons, but then very few pagans will agree on every aspect of their beliefs. Live and let live, and all that. It’s an interesting collection but disappointingly, most of the writers come from the UK or US. With the exception of an Aussy witch, of European extraction, there was nothing representing pagans from the rest of the world. Honestly, if you’re going to use ‘planet’ in the title at least make the effort to reach out beyond the Anglosphere.

