I found a set of post about Eostre on the UK Heathenry Facebook page that I’d like to share. It’s written by someone who uses the nym Cavalorn on Livejournal and apparently every year he does a post debunking various ‘Easter’ myths. This year he decided to make a case for Eostre and the festival of Eostur.

Part One

Part Two

Part Three

Why share this now?

As I mentioned in my Equinox post, I think it’s rude to honour one goddess in another goddess’s month so I don’t celebrate Ostara at the spring equinox but Eostur during April. Until recently I didn’t have a fixed date that I celebrated on, but, if I’ve understood the reasoning in Cavalorn’s posts correctly, it would appear Eostur falls on the fourth full moon of the year (which starts on the new moon after Modranecht), which is 22nd April this year. The posts certainly make interesting reading.

It does put me in quandary though as Fridays are a day I hold particularly sacred. Every day I honour my gods with candles and fresh water, but on a Friday I give especial honour to Frige and Ing. I eat pork in Their honour and share it with Them (we don’t waste food in this house – because we don’t have any to waste).

By Emil Doepler - Doepler, Emil. ca. 1905. Walhall, die Götterwelt der Germanen. Martin Oldenbourg, Berlin. Page 11. Photographed by Haukurth (talk · contribs) and cropped by Bloodofox (talk · contribs)., Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=5213093
By Emil Doepler – Doepler, Emil. ca. 1905. Walhall, die Götterwelt der Germanen. Martin Oldenbourg, Berlin. Page 11. Photographed by Haukurth (talk · contribs) and cropped by Bloodofox (talk · contribs)., Public Domain, https://commons.wikimedia.org/w/index.php?curid=5213093

22nd April is also Earth Day, an annual event meant to get people to give a damn about our home planet. It’s the day I set aside just for Nerthus, Earth Mother, in addition to honouring Her daily and keeping her in mind in my actions.

Friday is also the day I go to physiotherapy for the second time.

They’re going to have to share.

 

