Tonight is the longest night, dark and cold. I’m wrapped up warm in my pjs and fleece dressing gown with my crochet. I’ve been watching iPlayer while crocheting but my fingers were aching so I stopped. There are quite a few programmes I need to catch up on. I’ve been in bed most of the day.

Image result for Yule

Apparently, this blog is a year old today. I’m shocked. It’s been an interesting year. I started my Master’s degree, joined a couple of pagan groups and actually went to open rituals, and survive.

As most of you might have noticed, it’s Midwinter’s Eve, Yule, whatever you want to call it. For me it’s the first night of Geola, a festive period lasting from tonight to New Year’s Day. I’m not doing much this evening, I’ve got the place lit up and will try to sit up as long as possible.

Tomorrow I will have a festive meal with gammon and veg, Friday I will take out my remaining gifts for my sisters and their families. On the 24th I’ll celebrate Modrenect with another meal, probably of salmon, and then a meal on the 25th when I open my gifts, since that’s family tradition. On the 1st January I’ll have another festive meal and take my decorations down.

I actually put up a real tree this year, a little one in a pot, and decorated with candy canes. I’ll plant it in the front garden next year.

Seasons Greetings to one and all, whatever you’re celebrating.

